Increase in Migration opportunities with Over 650 Occupations on Australia’s Demand List. Australia’s Migration Program Increased to 190,000 places in 2013-14
contact caan wings


This Page is being updated

Permanent and Provisional Australian Visas Based on the Points System. All applications for Skilled Migration are considered against a points test.

  • Skilled Independent – Subclass 189 60 points
  • Skilled (Nominated) – Subclass 190 60 points
  • Skilled-Nominated or Sponsored (Provisional) – Subclass 489 60 points


Applicants are awarded points for twelve different criteria.

Applicants are required to undertake a skills assessment with the relevant assessing authority of their occupation prior to lodging their visa application with the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC).

There are no points awarded for different occupations, any longer. Applicants are required to select an occupation from the Consolidated Skilled Occupation List [CSOL].


Migration Regulations 1994 - Specification of Occupations, a Person or Body, a Country or Countries - IMMI 16/059

There is an assessment of an applicant’s main qualifications or skill by an independent assessing authority appointed by DIAC to assess if the overseas qualification is on the same standard (equivalent) as a similar qualification from an Australian educational or training institution.

There are different assessing authorities for different occupations.



Applicants will be awarded points based on their age, which is “frozen” at the time of lodging an application. The main applicant must be under 49 years old or under years old at the time of lodgment. There are 0 points awarded between the ages of 45 – 49 so applicants will need to accrue their 65 points from other categories in the point test.

  • 18 – 24 years old 25 points
  • 25 – 32 years old 30 points
  • 33 – 39 years old 25 points
  • 40 – 44 years old 15 points


  • Superior English (8 Bands in each component of the IELTS test) 20 points
  • Proficient English (7 Bands in each component of the IELTS test) 10 points
  • Competent English (6 Bands in each component of the IELTS test) 0 points

  • Applicants with passports from countries where English is the first language such as UK, Ireland, Canada, USA and NZ do not have to sit for an IELTS test except where they wish to score 10 points for Proficient English or 20 Points for Superior English.
  • All applicants who are NOT from the UK, Ireland, Canada, USA and NZ will need to sit for an IELTS test prior to lodging their visa applications and the results of their IELTS test must be lodged with their visa applications. These results cannot be less then 6.0 in all 4 bands of the test even though they score 0 points for English.

    • Three years overseas (of past 10 years) 5 points
    • Five years overseas (of past 10 years) 10 points
    • Eight years overseas (of past 10 years) 15 points


    To be eligible for work experience points applicants must have been in paid employment and be able to demonstrate this in various ways, such as employment references, salary slips and tax returns.


    • One year Australian (of past 10 years) 5 points
    • Three years Australian (of past 10 years) 10 points
    • Five years of past 10 years 15 points


    In certain occupations, students can undertake a Professional year of study, which is offered by certain occupations groups, such as accountancy. This year is intended to equip the applicant with a higher level of skills to enter the work force in Australia. 5 points


    • Offshore recognized apprenticeship/ AQFIII/IV completed in Australia, Diploma completed in Australia 10 points
    • Bachelor Degree (including a Bachelor degree with Honors or Masters) 15 points
    • PHD 20 points


    Recognition of Australian Study (minimum 2 years fulltime study) 5 points

    To meet the two year study requirement, applicants will have to complete one or more degrees, diplomas or trade qualifications for award by an Australian educational institute as a result of a course or courses that are:

    • Registered on the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS);
    • Completed as a result of at least two academic years’ study (fully equivalent) or completed in a total of no less than 16 calendar months that the applicant studied in Australia, while holding a visa that allowed study for which all instruction was conducted in English.
    • Course duration will be calculated from the date classes begin to the date all academic requirements have been met for that qualification.


    Accredited as a professional interpreter (level 3) by NAATI in a community language. 5 points

    NAATI is the National accreditation Authority of Translators and Interpreters
    Although an applicant may be extremely fluent in a community language from their upbringing and school and university education, unless they pass the required NAATI test they will not be awarded these points. DIAC lists all the community languages on the program.


    • Meet the two-year study requirement while living and studying in Regional Australia. 5 points
    • Department of Immigration and Citizenship have a list of the educational institutions considered regional.
      Points rewarded for this category 10 points


    Applicant’s spouse or De-Facto Spouse 5 points

    • is not an Australian citizen or permanent resident;
    • is an applicant for the visa;
    • meets the threshold criteria for General Skilled Migration


    The applicant’s partner will need to be under 49 years old, have a skills assessment in their nominated occupation and meet the English language threshold and work experience


    Applicants who have been nominated by a State /Territory government and apply for a:

    • Skilled Sponsored – Permanent Residence Visa, subclass 190 5 points
    • Skilled – Regional Sponsored – Provisional Residence (4 year) Visa, subclass 489 10 points


    Each State/Territory has its own criteria for sponsorship. An application has to be made to the state in which the applicant intends settling once the visa is approved.

    The difference between the Skilled Sponsored Permanent Residence and Skilled Regional Sponsored Provisional Residence visas are the following:

    • Skilled Sponsored – Permanent Residence – the applicant has been nominated by the state/territory as they have a Specific Skill required in that state as listed on that state/territory Skill Shortage List. Each state/territory have their own skill shortage list;
    • Skilled – Regional Sponsored – Provisional Residence – the applicant has been sponsored by a State/Territory and their skill is on the State/Territory Migration Plan (SMP). Each State/Territory has its own Skill Occupation List for Regional (and non Regional) Sponsorship. The visa is issued for four years and the applicant is required to live in the sponsoring state/territory for at least 2 out of the 4 years and work in any position (does not have to be in their usual occupation) for at least 35 hours a week for 12 months out of the 4 years. They are then eligible to apply for Permanent Residence. Alternately, under the applicants can also be sponsored by eligible relatives in Australia, subject to the condition that they qualify to be sponsored by their relatives living in Australia.

    The Point Test described above aims to give a general overview of the Point Test system. However, in order to assess the eligibility a technical assessment of the profile is strongly recommended. For a free evaluation and assessment of eligibility please call or email us at info@caanwings.com.

    Free Assessment of your Eligibility